About Us Advocacy CSHP Network Events Membership Products and Services Programs Resources MY.CSHP.ca  

Award/Grant Programs
Research and Education
Fellows Program
Online Education
Residency Training
Printable Version


Distinguished Service Award

Sponsored by Johnson & Johnson, Family of Companies (one award at $1500).

This award recognizes outstanding achievement in hospital pharmacy practice at the national and branch/chapter levels. Individuals are nominated by their peers.

Distinguished Service Award 2016

Donald Kuntz, BSP

Don Kuntz graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy in 1981. His career in hospital pharmacy began in the fall of 1981, when he joined the research team studying workload measurement under then Dean, Bruce Schnell, travelling Canada and observing hospital pharmacists and technicians in action.

To read full bio, click here.

Mark Fleming (left), of Johnson & Johnson, Family of Companies, with Donald Kuntz (right), recipient of the Distinguished Service Award.

Distinguished Service Award laureates at the DSA Dinner on Monday, February 1, 2016. From left to right (back row): Jim Mann, Bill McLean, Scott Walker, Michael Naylor, Bill Bartle, Régis Vaillancourt, and Don Kuntz (front row): Kelly Babcock, Sister Grace Sauvé, Emily Musing, Myrella Roy, and Carolyn Bornstein.

Past Award Recipients

2016 Donald Kuntz (Regina, SK)
2015 Margaret Colquhoun
2014 Kelly Babcock
2013 Régis Vaillancourt
2012 Carolyn Bornstein
2011 Myrella Roy
2010 Emily Musing
2009 Robin J Ensom
2008 Nancy Roberts
2007 Thomas W Paton
2006 Linda Poloway
2005 Bill Bartle
2004 Garry King
2003 Bob Nakagawa
2002 Glen R Brown
2001 Charlie Bayliff*
2000 James Blackburn
1999 Bonnie Salsman
1998 Scott Walker
1997 Rosemary Bacovsky
1996 Kevin Hall
1995 James L Mann
1994 William McLean
1993 Pauline Beaulac
1992 William Wilson
1991 C Brian Tuttle
1990 Reta Fowler
1989 Alan Samuelson
1988 Bruce R Schnell
1987 Jack Dancey*
1986 William R Foltas*
1985 Donna M Shaw*
1984 Sister Grace Sauvé
1983 Mary T Gannon*
1982 J Glen Moir*
1981 Brian A Dinel
1980 Betty C Riddell*
1979 Jack L Summers*
1978 Douglas J Stewart*
1977 Phyllis Yagi*
1976 Orest Buchko
1975 Muriel Hale
1974 Anne O’Toole*
1973 Leonard Gibson*
1972 J. Edwin Smith*
1971 Paule Benfante*
1970 Gordon Brown*
1969 Isabel E Stauffer*
1968 Jacqueline McCarthy
1967 Michael J V Naylor