2016 New Hospital Pharmacy Practitioner Award Recipients

Olivia Ng_website_0.jpg

Olivia Gayan Ng, BScPhm, RPh, PharmD
Toronto, Ontario

Award sponsored by Sandoz Canada Inc.

Olivia Ng is a clinical pharmacist in thoracic surgery and respirology at Toronto General Hospital, University Health Network (UHN) and an adjunct lecturer at the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto. She received a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from the University of Toronto in 2012 and a post-Baccalaureate Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Colorado in 2015.

As a clinical pharmacist, she is dedicated to patient-focused care in collaboration with the interprofessional team and fellow pharmacy colleagues. She has been actively involved at UHN in creating a medical marihuana policy. During her time as a PharmD student, Olivia completed a rotation at the Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada, where she reviewed medication incidents and drafted bulletins providing recommendations to hospitals across Canada. She also completed rotations at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre in the cardiovascular intensive care unit, and had a poster abstract accepted at the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) Professional Practice Conference in 2016. Olivia also worked as a pharmacist volunteer at the Toronto Pan Am and Parapan Am Games in 2015 and as a pharmacist for the Exceptional Access Program (EAP), Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care.

As an adjunct lecturer at the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, Olivia has been involved with lecturing in the Interprofessional Pain Curriculum, and has served as a clinical teaching assistant in courses across the various years. She has served as a preceptor for various rotations, ranging from the Early Practice Experience to Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience (APPE). She is a mentor through the Pharmacy Mentorship Program and a panelist on the APPE preceptor award panel. Outside of the Faculty of Pharmacy, Olivia has mentored medical students in the Faculty of Medicine Transition to Clerkship program.

Olivia maintains a strong leadership role in various organizations. At CSHP, she is an active member on the National Membership Committee and Metro Toronto Chapter. She is currently the Ontario Branch Education Committee Chair. Outside of CSHP, she also serves on the Ontario Lung Association Respiratory Health Educators Interest Group and the Chinese Canadian Pharmacists’ Association.

Olivia was recognized during the Awards Ceremony at CSHP's 47th Annual Professional Practice Conference (PPC). The Awards Ceremony was held on January 31, 2016, at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel. 

Ashley Walus_website_0.jpg

Ashley N Walus, BScPharm, ACPR
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Award sponsored by Sandoz Canada Inc.

Ashley Walus graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy in 2011 and completed her hospital pharmacy residency with the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority (WRHA) in 2012. After her residency she worked at the Health Sciences Centre – Children’s Hospital as a pediatric acute medicine and oncology pharmacist. In 2013, Ashley partnered with Pediatric Infectious Diseases to design and pilot the first antimicrobial stewardship program in Manitoba. Currently she is piloting a new role for clinical pharmacists within the WRHA Home Care Program, another first for the province. She frequently precepts residents and students both in clinical care rotations and in research projects.

Ashley’s passion for improving health equity and interprofessional collaborative practice are evident in her work with the Winnipeg Interprofessional Student-Run Health (WISH) Clinic. The WISH Clinic is a joint initiative between the University of Manitoba and Mount Carmel Clinic (an inner city community health centre), with support from the WRHA. Ashley has been an integral part of the organization since her second year of pharmacy school, and has served as the Executive Co-Chair and the inaugural Volunteer Coordinator. She continues to volunteer with the WISH Clinic as the lead pharmacist preceptor and loves to teach students from all health disciplines the value of collaboration in advancing health care delivery while meeting the needs of patients no matter what their social circumstance. She has presented at national and international conferences regarding the value of student-facilitated clinics.

Ashley has been involved with CSHP since she was a student and is currently the Manitoba Branch President. Other CSHP roles have included: Branch Awards Chair, Secretary, Student Representative and CSHP 2015 Branch Champion for Manitoba. She has written Practice Directions for the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba in order to help operationalize the new Pharmaceutical Act and Regulations.

When she isn’t working or volunteering in the pharmacy community, Ashley enjoys baking for friends and family, reading, travelling and spending time with her dog Sally and cat Molly.

Ashley was recognized during the Awards Ceremony at CSHP's 47th Annual Professional Practice Conference (PPC). The Awards Ceremony was held on January 31, 2016, at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel.