Excellence in Pharmacy Practice - Interprofessional Collaboration

Sponsored by

Submission deadline: October 31, 2022 (23:59 Pacific Time)

Award recipients

Tim T.Y. Lau and Nilu Partovi: "Outcomes of Administering Cefazolin vs. Other Antibiotics in Penicillin-Allergic Patients for Surgical Prophylaxis at a Major Canadian Teaching Hospital"
Past winners

Purpose and criteria

This award will be granted for a project, protocol, process, or initiative of importance to hospital pharmacy practice that was implemented in a hospital or healthcare facility. Programs or initiatives must involve departments from outside of pharmacy, such as interprofessional clinics (e.g., family care teams). New in 2022: Given the rise in extreme weather events (and their consequent health impacts), submissions related to climate change maybe given special consideration.

This award recognizes an individual or team that has worked effectively across disciplines or boundaries to improve pharmacy practice or patient care, which may be evidenced in one or more of the following ways:

  • Demonstrating best practice in a patient-centred collaborative approach focused on patient outcomes

  • Embracing the principles of continuous quality improvement

  • Incorporating patient perspective and values

  • Fostering consensus in decision-making and cooperative problem-solving

  • Having a thorough understanding of the roles and scopes of all members of the team

  • Other related qualities that may be considered during the selection process


This award is open to current Members and Individual Supporters of CSHP (including Pharmacists or Pharmacy Graduates, Pharmacy Technicians, Supporters and  Students) who have held membership since October 31, 2021. In the event of a team nomination, at least one team-member must meet eligibility requirements. Only one award will be granted in a given year; if there are no qualified candidates, the award will not be given.

About the award

This award will be presented in-person at the Together 2023 conference in Banff, Alberta. All award winners will receive a personalized framed certificate. One award winner will receive complimentary conference registration and travel and accommodation expenses to attend the event.

Award details

Award submissions will be adjudicated by the National Awards Committee. Assessment will be based solely on the information provided. In the event of a peer-nomination, additional details may be requested by the Awards Committee.

  • Nominations due by October 31, 2022 (23:59 Pacific Time)

  • Winners contacted by December 19, 2022

  • Winners announced in January via website, email, and social media

Submission details

Submit an individual or team for consideration using this nomination form  .

Please provide the following documents with your completed nomination form:

  • A nomination letter (not exceeding 1000 words) which outlines the reasons that the nominated individual or team is recommended for consideration. The letter should describe how the work of the nominee (or team) meets the criteria for the award. You may nominate yourself or someone else for this award.

  • At least two letters of support (not exceeding 300 words each) from individuals, (including contact information), who have first-hand knowledge of the accomplishments of the nominated individual or team. Letters should describe why the candidate(s) should receive the award. Letters of endorsement must be submitted by someone other than the primary applicant/nominee, such as a supervisor, a collaborator, or another member of the nominated team who may or may not be a CSHP member.

  • Any supporting documentation to provide additional information about the project, protocol, process, or initiative. This may include print or online news articles, presentations, publications, certificates of achievement, CV, profile, or biography (please limit supporting documents to 4 pages each)

  • In the event of a peer-nomination, additional details may be requested by the Awards Committee

Completed nominations may be returned to CSHP by mail, fax, or email.

Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists
30 Concourse Gate, Unit 3, Ottawa ON K2E 7V7
Toll Free: 877-340-2756, ext. 222
Direct: 613-909-9964
Fax: 844-438-9397 
E-mail: awards@cshp.ca

If you would like more information, please contact Robyn Rockwell, Membership and Awards Administrator, at rrockwell@cshp.ca or (877) 340-2756, ext. 222.