Year 2 Residency Award

Looking for the year 1 award? Click here.

Sponsored by:  

About the Award

The CSHP Year 2 Advanced Pharmacy Practice Residency Award recognizes pharmacy residents whose major projects are judged to be most deserving in terms of significant innovation, practical application, and/or development in pharmacy practice. The CSHP Pharmacy Practice Residency Award consists of a $1,000 cash prize.

Award Criteria

 To be eligible, each candidate must:
  • Be a current member of CSHP.
  • Be currently enrolled in or have completed a CPRB-accredited (or accreditation-pending) advanced (Year 2) hospital pharmacy residency program. For the 2023 inaugural award only, members from the 2018-2019, 2019-2020, 2020-2021, 2021-2022, and 2022-2023 residency programs are eligible.
  • In future years, all candidates will be required to be currently enrolled in or one-year post-completion of a CPRB-accredited (or accreditation-pending) advanced (Year 2) hospital pharmacy residency program.
  • Submit an award application to CSHP – The residency project manuscript must be formatted according to the Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy’s (CJHP) Author Guidelines.

Award Details

Award submissions will be adjudicated by the National Awards Committee. Assessment will be based solely on the information provided. In the event of a peer-nomination, additional details may be requested by the Awards Committee.

  • In 2023 only, CSHP will select two winners who will each receive a cheque for $1000 to mark the launch of this new Year 2 Advanced Pharmacy Practice Residency Award. In all future years, one award will be given annually
  • Submissions are due by January 15, 2024 (23:59 Pacific Time)
  • Winners will be contacted in February
  • Winners will be announced via email, on the CSHP website, on social media, and in the CSHP Interactions newsletter

Submission Requirements

  • Two electronic copies of the manuscript describing the residency project. One electronic copy of the manuscript must not bear any marks identifying the author or hospital in which the project was completed. 
  • Manuscript format must follow the Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy (CJHP) Author Guidelines. The word limit (excluding abstract, references, tables, and figures) is 3,000. If the CJHP guidelines are not followed, a submission may be deemed ineligible.
  • Completed Application Form.

Application Form

Inquiries should be directed to:
Robyn Rockwell, Membership and Awards Administrator
Direct: (613) 909-9964

Winners of the 2023 CSHP Year 2 Advanced Pharmacy Practice Residency Award, sponsored by Pfizer Canada


Hazal Babadagli (Alberta Health Services, Cardiology) 

  • Pharmacist-Led Follow-Up Program for RurAL Patients with Acute Coronary Syndrome: The PLURAL-ACS Pilot Program
    Can J Hosp Pharm. 2024;77(1):e3472. doi: 10.4212/cjhp.3472 

Shazia Damji (Lower Mainland Pharmacy Services, Internal Medicine) 

  • Prioritizing Quality Over Quantity: Defining Optimal Pharmacist-to-Patient Ratios to Ensure Comprehensive Direct Patient Care in a Medical or Surgical Unit
    Can J Hosp Pharm. 2024;77(1):3437. doi: 10.4212/cjhp.3437