Antimicrobial Stewardship: We are all in this together! Webinar Dec. 12

By: Julie Sobowale

CSHP-2017-Logo-H-RGB-Small.jpg

Tuesday, December 12, 2017
9:00 a.m. PST | 10:00 a.m. MST | 11:00 a.m. CST
12:00 p.m. EST | 1:00 p.m. AST | 1:30 p.m. NST

Presented by:
Dr. Miranda So, BScPhm, PharmD
Pharmacotherapy Specialist, Sinai Health System - University Health Network Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
Assistant Professor (Status), Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto

Duration: 30 minutes

This is a CSHP member benefit. Please register here (only one RSVP for a group).

________________________________________

This webinar aims to introduce a new CSHP publication, the Canadian Medication Optimization Briefing. The first in the series is on the topic of antimicrobial stewardship. Through our interactions with patients and other healthcare professionals, and our expertise in managing medication therapy, every pharmacist can be a key player in antimicrobial stewardship.

Objectives:

• To introduce the Canadian Medication Optimization Briefing

• To highlight how pharmacists can incorporate antimicrobial stewardship into their daily practice

• To emphasize how pharmacists can engage patients and caregivers in tackling antimicrobial resistance


Miranda%20So.jpg

Miranda So is a Pharmacotherapy Specialist with the Sinai Health System-University Health Network Antimicrobial Stewardship Program, and an Assistant Professor (Status-Only), at the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, University of Toronto. She received her Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and Doctor of Pharmacy degrees from the University of Toronto. Since 2013, she has been the Course Coordinator of the Year 3 elective “Introduction to Antimicrobial Stewardship” in the PharmD Program.

Miranda’s research interests are antimicrobial stewardship in immunocompromised patients, specifically solid organ transplant, haematology-oncology and stem cell transplant populations, as well as the use of education technology in health professions education. She   has published and presented on these topics locally and internationally. Miranda is a recipient of a CSHP Foundation Research Grant (2013) and Education Grant (2015), the University of Toronto’s Information Technology and Innovation Fund, and the Teaching Innovation Award from UofT’s Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy. In her spare time, she loves to knit and can talk a good yarn, as she does with antibiotics!

For more information contact Susan Maslin, Event Planning & PSN Administrator smaslin@cshp.ca.