The Awards Program recognizes hospital pharmacists who have made a significant contribution to the improvement of pharmacy services through innovations and developments in the field, original research, scholarly papers or publications. This program is made possible through the interest and support of pharmaceutical firms whose generosity is acknowledged.

CSHP Branches establish local awards. Find more information by visiting the branch websites.

Pharmacy residents are eligible to apply for a Pharmacy Practice Residency Award through their branch. This award recognizes individuals whose major project is judged to be most deserving in terms of significant innovation, practical application, and/or development in an institutional pharmacy practice setting.

Special and General Awards

The Awards Committee invites applications and nominations for the 2017/2018 Awards Program. The goal of the awards program is to improve patient outcomes by promoting excellence in the practice of hospital pharmacy throughout hospitals and other collaborative healthcare settings. The awards are presented to CSHP Members (pharmacists) in recognition of their professional dedication. The Hospital Pharmacy Student award is presented to a student pharmacist. 

Winners are recognized during the annual awards ceremony at the Professional Practice Conference (PPC).

Special Awards are presented to Members and Supporters who have distinguished themselves within their profession. 

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award
  • Hospital Pharmacy Student Award

General Awards are presented to Members who have completed projects of importance to hospital pharmacy practice.

  • Management and Leadership Best Practice Award
  • Patient Care Enhancement Award
  • Pharmacotherapy Best Practices Award
  • Safe Medication Practices Award
  • Teaching, Learning and Education Award

What are this year's submission deadlines?

If you are interested in submitting a project for the General Awards Program, or if would like to apply to or nominate someone for the Special Awards Program, submissions are due by September 5, 2017, except for submissions to the Hospital Pharmacy Student Award, which are due by September 30, 2017.

Past winners