Congratulations to the 2019 CSHP Award Winners

By: Amanda Iannaccio

Six individuals were recognized at the Professional Practice Conference (PPC) 2019 for their outstanding service to the profession of pharmacy and to CSHP.



Distinguished Service Award

Sponsored by Pharmasciene Inc.

Moira Wilson 

Saint John, New Brunswick


Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award

Sponsored by Fresenius Kabi Canada Ltd.

Diane Brideau-Laughlin

Moncton, New Brunswick


New Hospital Pharmacy Practitioner Award

Sponsored by Sterimax Inc.

Laura Minard

Halifax Nova Scotia


Hospital Pharmacy Student Award

Co-sponsored by CSHP and CAPSI

Sydney Evans 

Riverview, New Brunswick


Honorary Membership

Mitsuho (Mits) Miyata

Port Moody, British Columbia



Karen Dahri

Vancouver, British Columbia

The following four teams were recognized at PPC 2019 for projects of importance to hospital pharmacy practice:

Patient Care Enhancement Award

Sponsored by Teva Canada Limited

Benzodiazepine and Sedative-Hypnotic Drug Use in Nova Scotia Hospitals: A Point Prevalence Survey, Nova Scotia Health Authority

Heather L Neville, Mia Losier, Jennifer Pitman, Melissa Gehrig, Jennifer E Isenor, Laura V Minard, Ellen Penny, Susan K Bowles

Pharmacotherapy Best Practice Award

Sponsored by Pfizer Canada ULC

Voriconazole Prophylaxis in Leukemic Patients: A Retrospective Single Centre Study, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto, Ontario

Vivian Bui, Sandra A N Walker, Marion Elligsen

Safe Medication Practices Award

Sponsored by HealthPro Procurement Services Inc.

Retrospective, Multicentre Matched Cohort Study Comparing Safety and Efficacy Outcomes of Intermittent Infusion and Continuous Infusion Vancomycin, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto, Ontario

Nathan H Ma

Teaching, Learning and Education Award

Sponsored by Pfizer Canada ULC

Development of a Vancomycin Competency-Based Training and Assessment Program (VC-TAP), Saskatchewan Health Authority, Saskatoon Region

Meagan Rieger, Barb Evans, Justin Kosar


Award Program Sponsors
With Thanks!