Encore Presentation: CSHP Webinar: QTc Prolongation: Assessment and Management

By: Chris Doody

CSHP-2017-Logo-H-RGB-Small.jpg

Due to popular demand, we are offering an

ENCORE PRESENTATION

We are extending the dialogue. Join us for a webinar with Dr. Bolt as she shares the session originally presented at PPC 2017

QTc Prolongation: Assessment and Management

Thursday, June 29, 2017
10:00 a.m. PDT ● 11:00 a.m. MDT ● 11:00 a.m. CST ● 12:00 p.m. CDT
1:00 p.m. EDT ● 2:00 p.m. ADT ● 2:30 p.m. NDT

Presented by:
Dr. Jennifer Bolt, BScPharm, ACPR, PharmD
Clinical Pharmacist Specialist, Geriatrics
Interior Health Authority, Kelowna, BC
 

Duration: 1 hour

QTc prolongation is an adverse effect associated with over 100 medications on the Canadian market.  Prolongation of the QTc interval has been associated with an increased risk of cardiac arrhythmias, particularly torsades de pointes (TdP).  In addition to medications, there are many additional risk factors for QTc prolongation and TdP.  The pharmacist’s role in QTc prolongation is to identify the risk factors for QTc prolongation, determine the patient’s likelihood of experiencing QTc prolongation and TdP and recommend strategies to mitigate this risk.  This session will review and apply the published risk stratification schemes to several patient cases.  It will also review the evidence for risk of QTc prolongation and TdP with several commonly used classes of medication and provide practical recommendations for monitoring or alteration of therapy.

Objectives:

  • Identify the pharmacists role in management of QTc prolongation
  • Recognize the risk factors for QTc prolongation
  • Apply a risk stratification scheme to individual patients to determine the risk of QTc prolongation
  • Recommend management and monitoring strategies for patients at risk of QTc prolongation

 

This is a CSHP member benefit.  Please register here (only one RSVP for a group)

Note: this webinar is not accredited

 

For more information contact Susan Maslin, Event Planning & PSN Administrator smaslin@cshp.ca