Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award

The Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award is given to a Member of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists (CSHP) in recognition of prolonged service to and involvement with CSHP, as exemplified by significant, sustained contributions primarily at the branch or chapter levels. Individuals are nominated by their peers.

This award is sponsored by Fresenius Kabi Canada Ltd.

Background and historical information

Isabel Stauffer picture.jpgIsabel Stauffer’s personal history is deeply entwined with the corporate history of CSHP. In 1948, The Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists constituted its bylaws and applied for a Dominion Charter, which was granted in 1950. Isabel was one of the Society’s first members, and she quickly became a strong supporter of and ambassador for the new Society. She encouraged collaboration with many groups, including the Canadian Pharmaceutical Association (CPhA; now the Canadian Pharmacists Association), and served as the first CSHP representative to the CPhA Council in 1951. Only a year after its inception, CSHP also began its role as a consultant to government (a role on which the Society continues to focus today), and Isabel’s leadership was once again evident. In 1949, the Department of National Health and Welfare (now Health Canada), submitted a list of proposed additions to and deletions from the 1953 revision of the British Pharmacopoeia, and Isabel prepared a response to this proposal on behalf of CSHP.

As early as 1949, it was clear to CSHP members that they could benefit from a hospital pharmacy conference in Canada. In 1952, in collaboration with the Canadian Hospital Council, the CPhA, the Canadian Foundation for the Advancement of Pharmacy, and the University of Toronto, CSHP invited the American Hospital Association to hold its Institute on Hospital Pharmacy in Toronto. By 1955, CSHP sponsored its own Canadian Institute on Hospital Pharmacy in Vancouver. This first CSHP conference was coordinated by Isabel, then chair of the Education Committee. 

Isabel published widely in professional journals and was editor of and contributor to the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties. She was a past chair of both the Canadian Hospital Pharmacy Residency Board and the CSHP Board of Fellows and played a significant role in the development of hospital internships and hospital pharmacy residency programs. She was the recipient of many awards, including the CSHP Ortho Distinguished Service Award, and the Canadian Centennial Medal. In 1970, Isabel was elected to Honorary Membership in CSHP. At the University of Toronto, the Isabel Stauffer Lecture Award has been established in her name. Each year, the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists celebrates the outstanding contributions that this remarkable woman made to the profession of pharmacy when it presents the Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award to a CSHP Member. 

Call for Nominations

The nomination deadline has now passed. Nominations will be accepted from August to September 30 each year. Please submit nominations through the online nomination form. Selections will be made in November.

For more information, refer to the Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award Criteria

Signature form

Word icon.jpg

Download a copy of the signature form. 

Completed signature forms must be returned to CSHP by 23:59 PDT October 7, 2018.

Past award recipients

The 2019 recipient of the Isabel E. Stauffer Meritorious Service Award is Diane Brideau-Laughlin.

2018 Theresa Hurley
2017 Nadine Grimm 
2016 Carolee Awde 
2015 Barbara A Thomas
2014 Lisa D Bishop
2013 Marita Tonkin
2012 Judy Chong
2011 John McBride
2010 Victoria Sills
2009 Lynda J Chilibeck
2008 Catherine Doherty
2007 Harry S Hopkins
2006 Susan Poulin *
2005 Donna Wheeler-Usher
2004 Nancy Roberts
2003 Margaret Gray
2002 Margaret Colquhoun
2001 No candidates this year
2000 Kelly Babcock
1999 Linda Poloway
1999 Kenneth McGregor
1998 Larry Legare
1998 Emily Somers
1997 No candidates this year
1996 Dennis Leith
1996 Bob Nakagawa
1995 Donna Pipa *
1995 Kristina Wichman
1994 Rosemary Bacovsky
1994 Roy A Steeves
1993 No candidates this year
1992 John Iazzetta
1992 Cecilia Laskoski
1991 Louanne Twaites
1991 David Windross
1990 Doris A Thompson
1989 Fred Rumpel
1988 D Bryce Thompson
1987 Alan Samuelson
1986 Herbert A Dixon *
1986 A W Stanley Garvin

* indicates deceased

Inquiries should be directed to :

Robyn Rockwell, Membership & Awards Administrator
Toll Free: 1 (877) 340-2756, ext. 222
Direct: (613) 736-9733, ext. 222