Pharmacy Practice Residency Award

Sponsored by Pfizer Canada Pfizer-logo-gradient-small.png

2018 Award Recipients

British Columbia Branch

Candy Lee

Lower Mainland Pharmacy Services

Real World Evaluation of Sacubitril/Valsartan in a Heart Function Clinic

Leo Leung

Lower Mainland Pharmacy Services

Adverse Effects of High Dose vs Stanard Dose Dexmedetomidine in Cardiac Surgery Patients: A Retrospective Cohort Study

Jasminder Mourh

Lower Mainland Pharmacy Services

Barriers and Strategies for Transition from Student to Successful Hospital Pharmacist

Brendan Woods

Lower Mainland Pharmacy Services

Designing a Pharmacist Opioid Safety and Intervention Tool (POSIT)

    Alberta Branch

    Daniel Leung

    Alberta Health Services, Red Deer (Central Zone)

    Focused Analysis of Acute Ischemic Stroke and Time to Thrombolysis with Emergency Medicine PHARMacist Participation (FAST-PHARM)

    Saskatchewan Branch

    Meagan Rieger

    Saskatchewan Health Authority, Saskatoon Area

    Development of a Vancomycin Competency-Based Training and Assessment Program (VC-TAP)

    Manitoba Branch

    Stephanie Bryant

    Winnipeg Regional Health Authority

    Effectiveness of Proton Pump Inhibitor Deprescribing Interventions in Long Term Care

    Ontario Branch

    Vivian Bui

    Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

    Voriconazole Prophylaxis in Leukemic Patients: A Retrospective Single Centre Study

    Priya Patel

    The Hospital for Sick Children

    Relative Bioavailability of an Extemporaneously Prepared Aprepitant Oral Suspension in Healthy Adults

    Tiana Nadine Tilli

    St. Michael's Hospital

    Opioid Stewardship: Implementing Proactive, Pharmacist-led Reviews for Patients Co-Prescribed Opioids and Benzodiazepines at an Urban Academic Family Health Team

    Vivian Tsoi

    London Health Sciences Centre

    An Evaluation of Daptomycin Prescribing and Clinical Outcomes: A Retrospective, Single-Centre Experience

    New Brunswick & Nova Scotia Branches

    Kristin Kaupp

    Nova Scotia Health Authority, Central Zone

    Optimizing Patient Education of Oncology Medications: A Quantitative Analysis of the Patient Perspective

      About the Award

      The Pharmacy Practice Residency Award recognizes pharmacy practice residents whose major projects are judged to be most deserving in terms of significant innovation, practical application, and/or development in an institutional pharmacy practice setting. The award consists of a cheque for $1000 and an engraved memento

      Award Criteria

      To be eligible, each candidate must:

      • Be a current Member of CSHP and must have been a Member of CSHP at the time the residency was completed;   
      • Be currently enrolled in, or one year post-completion, of a CPRB-accredited (or accreditation-pending) pharmacy practice residency program in the province of the branch administering the award. For the 2019 award, Members from the 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 residency programs are eligible, depending on the submission deadline set by the branch; and 
      • Submit an award application to the branch in the province in which the residency was completed. The residency project manuscript must be formatted according to the Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy's (CJHP) Author Guidelines.

      Residents in 2017-2018 who have won the 2018 award may not apply for the 2019 award.

      Application Process

      Each branch will be entitled to one Pharmacy Practice Residency Award for every 10 pharmacy residents who are CSHP Members and who are enrolled in a CPRB-accredited (or accreditation-pending) program in the province. All participating branches advertise and administer the program annually within their respective branches. The branches also adjudicate the award submissions and present the awards at branch award presentations.    

      Check your branch website for submission requirements and deadlines.